AWWA’s Water Equation funds water operator education and training, advanced academic scholarships, young professionals access to ACE conferences , and Community Engineering Corps’ mission of providing underserved communities with water infrastructure solutions.

Funding the Future of Water — Why is it important?

Clean, safe, and sufficient water supplies are a critical component of our economy, public health and safety. With an increasing number of water experts retiring and the growing complexity of our water systems, we must invest in the development of present and future water professionals.

Click here to learn more

Our 2016 Water Equation Scholarship Recipients

Sheryl Wassillie, a Water Operator Assistant with the Igiugig Village Council, and Valenina Kusnetsov, a backup Operator at Voz Water Utility in Anchorage Point have been  awarded $1000 each to be used towards books, manuals, conferences, professional development courses, and other eligible expenses.

Also awarded a complimentary AWWMA Conference registration were:

  • Drasida Basargin, who is looking to break into the water treatment field in Voznesneka on the Kenai Peninsula;
  • Richard Lausten, a Maintenance Technician for Little Red Services (Deadhorse)
  • Dennis Helms, a Water/Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator with the City of Kodiak

Congratulations to all, we look forward to working with you for years to come in the water industry in Alaska!

Original Scholarship Announcement

We are excited to let you know about a new scholarship that the Alaska Water Wastewater Management Association (AWWMA) is offering this year for operators or those interested in becoming an operator. The One AWWA Operator Scholarship is funded through the support of AWWA’s The Water Equation Campaign and the Alaska Water and Wastewater Management Association.

Two scholarships will be awarded in the amount of $1000 per person for water operator training and education. Scholarship award can be used for certification/licensure, two-year water related associate degree, technical school, professional training, books and manuals, and operator related conferences. In addition, each recipient will receive a one-year AWWA Operator membership. Preference will be given to operators or interested parties in remote areas of Alaska where local access to training opportunities are limited.

Click here to apply today

We hope that you will consider applying or encourage someone to apply that would be a good candidate.

The deadline for applications was March 10, 2017.

We look forward to hearing from you and hopefully seeing you at our statewide AWWMA Conference April 24-27th, 2017 in Anchorage.

Follow us!